Charter of Affordability

Share to

17 October, 2017

The Charter of Affordability is a partnership between government and key organisations that many people deal with on a regular basis such as banks, energy companies, local government, and SA Water. All these services impact on the household budget.

Through the Charter, each organisation has agreed to six guiding principles that ensure people in financial hardship are treated with respect and compassion, and can access information to help them make important decisions. Each organisation has completed a fact sheet that provides information on financial assistance and a contact person. The attached document below provides more information on the hardship policies made available by the signatories listed below.


  • AGL
  • Energy Australia
  • ANZ Corporation
  • Good Shepherd Micro Finance
  • Bank SA
  • Homestart Finance
  • Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Ltd
  • Housing SA
  • Berri Barmera Council
  • National Australia Bank
  • Campbelltown City Council
  • Origin Energy
  • City of Charles Sturt Council
  • People's Choice Credit Union
  • City of Burnside Council
  • Red Energy
  • City of Holdfast Bay Council
  • SA Water
  • City of Onkaparinga Council
  • South Australian Council of Social Service
  • City of Port Adelaide Enfield
  • South Australian State Schools Administrative Officer's Association
  • City of Prospect Council
  • The Salvation Army
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Town of Walkerville
  • Credit Union SA
  • Uniting Communities

If you would like to read more about the programs that are keeping SA affordable now and into the future go to

Links to Signatory Hardship Policies#1.pdf